Higher National Certificates


A Higher National Certificate (HNC) is a higher education qualification at SCQF Level 7, which is certificated by the Scottish Qualification Authority (SQA).

Although at the same level as the first year of an undergraduate degree the courses are different from degree qualifications in that they are more vocational and are designed to meet the needs of employers locally, nationally and internationally. Higher National Certificates provide both the practical skills students need to do a job and the theoretical knowledge an employer will expect you to have.

You can find out more about Higher National Certificates on the SQA website.

This year we are delighted to offer, for the first time, two full National Certificates in Social Sciences as part of the school senior phase. These are detailed in this year’s schools prospectus and in the future we hope to offer a wider range of complete Higher National Certificate programmes in the future.

Degree Modules

Students in S6 can undertake a UHI undergraduate degree module as part of their school curriculum. This opportunity enables students who have already achieved their qualifications for entry to higher education to study a chosen subject in greater depth, gain credits at SCQF level 7 and acquire skills of independent study.

There are a number of degree modules available in a range of subjects. Each of the modules is worth 20 credits at Level 7 – first year undergraduate degree level. Each credit is related to 10 hours of study, therefore, a 20 credit module requires 200 hours of study.

The modules are delivered over 12 weeks plus 2 exam weeks in either semester 1 (September – December) or semester 2 (January – May).

The mode of delivery may vary according to the subject studied

  • Face-to-face delivery
  • Delivery totally online
  • Blended delivery with online delivery plus either face-to-face or video conference sessions.

Hear more from staff, teachers and parents


Hear from the students themselves