National Progression Award in Professional Computer Fundamentals


SCQF Level 6

Face to face

Semester 1: NPA in Professional Computer Fundamentals

The National Progression Award (NPA) in Professional Computer Fundamentals focuses on the technical skills required to work safely and securely with computer servers and networks. It highlights the importance of problem solving using troubleshooting techniques. The NPA introduces you to the theory involved in setting up, maintaining and upgrading networks and servers as well as the security involved.

The award consists of the following three units:

• Network fundamentals
• Server fundamentals
• Security fundamentals

It is designed to give an introduction to the skills required to be a computer technician with an awareness of cyber security.

Semster 2: College Certificate

The award consists of the following three units:

Practical Database/Access/SQL Unit Level 6

  • Introduction to Microsoft Access
  • Introduction to SQL
  • Retrieving and filtering data

Practical Computer Programming Level 6

  • Develop programs using one or more software development environments
  • Apply contemporary design and development methodologies
  • Select and use combinations of appropriate constructs
  • Select and use appropriate data types and structures (1D arrays)
  • Testing solutions systematically
  • Apply good practice

Practical Maths for Computing Level 6

  • Define different number sets and perform base conversions
  • State basic geometric properties of 2D and 3D shapes and calculate areas, perimeters volumes and surface areas in a computing (games) context
  • Calculate vectors in two dimensions and create visual representations of information
  • Simplify and solve computing (games) problems using algebraic techniques

Entry requirements:

  • Four passes in National 5 subjects including English and Mathematics;
  • Completion of the NPA Computing SCQF Level 5 programme;
  • Ability to study at SCQF Level 6.

Mode of delivery: Face to face, Friday, 9am to 3.30pm

Duration: One academic year (August/September to May/June)

Apply now